Staples Free School Fund receives grant

Will be used to support college scholarships


Staples Free School Fund trustees accept a $50,000 contribution from Dori Wollen of the Silverburgh Foundation at their recent board meeting. From left are Ronald Noren, Dori Wollen, John Harris, Edward Roche, Suzanne McCauley and Andrew Kachele. Thomas Savard is seated. Missing from photo are trustees Alice Meyer and Carolann Vassallo.

The Staples Free School Fund has announced receipt of a $50,000 grant from the Grace, George and Judith Silverburgh Foundation Inc.  The grant will support the fund’s mission of awarding college scholarships to qualifying Easton students.

The Silverburgh Foundation is administered by Easton resident Dori Wollen, on behalf of her late husband, Roger, who was founder and president. The Foundation supports a variety of charitable endeavors throughout the New York metropolitan area.

“Roger believed in the importance of higher education, and he loved Easton, so it is only fitting that, as we prepare to close the foundation, we support the Staples Free School Fund and help to provide needed support to Easton’s young adults in pursuit of higher education.” said Mrs. Wollen following presentation of the check to John Harris, chairman, Staples Free School Fund.

The Staples Free School Fund is among the oldest charitable organizations in the nation, with a more than 200-year history of supporting local students in their educational pursuits.

Founded in 1781, through a bequest by Samuel Staples, the fund originally supported the establishment of the Staples Free School, the second free private academy opened in the United States. Following the establishment of a public school system, the fund’s mission was redirected to establish a college scholarship fund for qualifying Easton students.

“The generous donation from the Silverburgh Foundation reaffirms the importance of our mission to honor Samuel Staples’ dream of making education available to all,” said Mr. Harris.

The Staples Free School Fund is a 501 (c) (3) charitable foundation and welcomes all contributions.  Those interested in making a bequest or contribution should contact foundation manager Sherry Harris at email [email protected] or visit the website at for further information.

The fund is directed by a Board of Trustees comprised of Easton residents including, John Harris, chairman; Ronald Noren, vice chairman; Alice Meyer, secretary; Suzanne McCauley, treasurer; Andrew Kachele, Edward Roche, Thomas Savard and Carolann Vassallo.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. The Easton Courier, 16 Bailey Ave, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress